“Media Circus” of The Jamia Nagar Encounter


.
.People running in Panic in okhla Jamia Nagar N Delhi

Yousuf Saeed
I have titled this message the “media circus”, although I am actually referring to yesterday’s morning’s so-called encounter killing of two young people referred to as “terrorists” in L-18 Batla House, Jamia Nagar, by the Delhi police. I call it media circus because that’s what I think it really is, like many more such incidents.

The incident happened in my neigbourhood, about 150 meters from my house. So I have the opportunity to see how things are turning up. I had gone out of the area for some work while the incident was taking place around 11 am, but found it impossible to reach back home 2 hours later, because the road for about 1 and a half kilometer (on both sides) was completely blocked, not by the police vehicles, but by the parked OB vans of the countless TV channels, some of which I never heard of before. Each of these vehicles had its generators on, and thick video cables jetting out of them for several meters to the other end where the cameraperson and the excited anchor were shouting how two terrorists have been killed in the fierce encounter. Most local people are surprised<<<<Read More

Leave a Reply

